Catholic Bishops’ Conference


  1. To enable the hierarchy of this Region to “exercise jointly the pastoral office by way of promoting the greater good which the Church offers manking, especially through forms and programmes of the apostolate which are fittingly adapted to the circumstances of age”. (Bishops No. 38, 1)
  2. To foster a spirit of communion and co-responsibility among the Bishops of the Region.
  3. To enable the Bishops to act on matters of common concern and the good of the local Church.
  4. To pursue a common policy as far as possible in the spirit of co-operation and coordination in the exercise of their pastoral office.
  5. To establish relations with other Bishops’ Conferences.
PresidentArchbishop John Ha
Vice PresidentArchbishop Murphy Pakiam
Honorary Secretary Bishop Cornelius Sim
Honorary Treasurer Bishop Paul Tan
MembersArchbishop Nicholas Chia
Archbishop John Lee
Coadjutor Archbishop John Wong
Bishop Anthony Lee
Bishop Cornelius Piong
Bishop Joseph Hii
Bishop Julius Gitom
Bishop Sebastian Francis
Priest-SecretaryRev. Dr. Michael Teng
Presidents of Regional Episcopal Commissions

Biblical CommissionArchbishop John Ha
Catholic Charismatic RenewalBishop Joseph Hii
Commission for Consecrated LifeBishop Paul Tan
Commission for Diocesan Priests and Seminarians Archbishop Nicholas Chia
Commission for Ecumenism and Inter Religious AffairsArchbishop Murphy Pakiam
Commission for Family LifeCoadjutor Archbishop John Wong
Commission for Lay ApostolateBishop Julius Gitom
Commission for LiturgyBishop Sebastian Francis
Commission for MissionCoadjutor Archbishop John Wong
Commission for Pastoral Health CareBishop Cornelius Sim
Commission for Pastoral Care of Migrants and ItinerantsBishop Paul Tan
Commission for Justice and PeaceBishop Joseph Hii
Commission for Social CommunicationsBishop Cornelius Sim
Malaysian Catechetical CommissionBishop Cornelius Piong
Malaysian Catholic Education CouncilArchbishop Murphy Pakiam
Apostleship of the SealArchbishop Nicholas Chia